Frugal Living: Stretch Your Dollars

I Survived a "Selfie" Haircut!
I Survived a “Selfie” Haircut
If you’re on a budget like me, you’ll appreciate some of these money-saving tips.  It’s challenging at times since we live in a materialistic society.  I just remind myself that my self worth isn’t dependent on the car I drive, shoes I wear or house I live in. These things are superficial; the contentment I feel by living within my means makes it all worth it.

Since I’m saving to buy a house in the next few years, I’m always interested in finding new ways to save money and help me reach my goal sooner. I’d love to hear about the things that you’ve done to save money too.

How I saved 75% on my Annual Haircare Costs

One thing I started reevaluating recently was how much I spent on my hair each year. In the past, I’d spent $1,000 a year on haircuts, highlights and expensive hair products. I’ve reduced that by 75% by doing the following:

Other Ideas & Resources 

There are so many ways to save money and it really adds up over time. For instance, you can try visiting your local library to get the latest DVDs (buh-bye Redbox & Netflix). I am lucky to live close to an awesome library that has a great selection of DVDs so it works for me.  If you’re in a rural area, Netflix will definitely be a cheaper option to cable. Another idea is to invest in a good reusable water bottle and vow to stop spending money on bottled water. Or, try making your own coffee or tea to take with you instead of stopping at Starbucks every day. If you drink it throughout the day, buy a Thermos to take your coffee or tea with you.  Leave healthy snacks at work (at your desk, in your car or office fridge) so you’re less tempted to spend money at a local cafe or vending machine. For lots of other tips, check out these sites:

Be Well,

Nicole

2 thoughts on “Frugal Living: Stretch Your Dollars

  1. Hi Nicole,

    I’m thrilled that you found my post on how I started saving money by cutting my own hair. If I would have had the courage to take scissors in my own hands years ago, I could have saved enough to buy a small car!!! I checked out your Etsy store and website…both are lovely. I wish you much success in your business and personal goals; I’m certain you’ll inspire others to live the lives of their dreams.

    Cheers,
    Ree

    Like

    • Hi Ree,

      Thank you so much! I have to commend you; the tips on your site were so helpful and you really inspired me to keep an open mind and teach myself how to cut my own hair. It’s only been a few weeks since my “self” haircut and I still can’t believe I did it! I absolutely love the results and will do it again in the future.

      Thank you for your comments. Like you, it is my goal to inspire others in a positive way.

      ~Nicole

      Like

Leave a Reply

