Guacamole Salad

photo

I never liked avocados growing up, maybe it was the color or earthy green taste that turned me away.  It wasn’t until a few years back that I gave them another chance.  Now, I enjoy them often and I can’t live without guacamole.  I actually considered changing my name to guacamole (hehe).  Whether you just want a basic recipe for guacamole, or are interested in making a meal out of it, this classic combination of ingredients is one of my favorites.  Now, time to get your guac on!

In this photo, I’ve used a Mexican molcajete (a gift to me from a great friend) and flax tortilla chips from Trader Joe’s.  I’m a huge fan of nutritionist, Natalia Rose, and here is the guacamole recipe I often use, adapted from her book “The Raw Food Detox Diet.”

-3 Hass avocados, finely chopped
-4 ripe roma tomatoes, diced, or 2 cups grape tomatoes, sliced in half
-½ fresh garlic clove, minced
-1 handful cilantro, rinsed & chopped
-1/4 to 1/2 pound baby romaine, mesclun, or regular romaine lettuce, chopped
-Juice of 1 lime
-Celtic sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Enjoy!

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

