Going Crazy? Take a Few Minutes to Unplug & Unwind

IMG_3818Dr. Wayne Dyer, one of my favorite motivational speakers and authors, wrote something recently that inspired me to turn inward for peace and contentment.  Bouts of insomnia and anxiety have had me feeling drained lately; I’ve had a lot on my mind.  It’s also difficult to shut my mind off at the end of the day.  Dr. Dyer’s advice to simplify by unplugging and unwinding was just what I needed.  Although I did not feel like it last night, I made myself  take a soothing bath, read a few pages in a book and then finally took pen to paper to write about what’s been on my mind.  Last night I slept so soundly so my evening of self-pampering paid off.

Some other ideas include: taking a walk outside instead of going to the gym, taking a night off from the television or internet, meeting up with a friend in person instead of emailing or texting to catch up or cooking a meal from scratch and savoring every bite.

The Present Moment 

I’m very guilty of rushing through things and not taking the time to enjoy the present moment.  That’s why I need people to inspire me to keep it real 🙂  Dr. Dyer, you are absolutely fabulous!  For further reading on savoring the present moment, check out Eckhart Tolle’s “The Power of Now.”

Be Well,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

