Life’s Ups & Downs

I’ve been struggling a bit lately because things haven’t been working out the way I had planned.  But, that is life.. right?  I think the more we resist life’s disappointments, the more it shows up in our lives.  I’m learning that when doors close, new ones open and that’s truly a blessing in disguise.  Setbacks only make us stronger and bring new light into our lives.  It doesn’t mean it’ll be fun. Sometimes it’s downright painful.  Excruciating.  So much, that you just want to jump in a plane and go somewhere warm (or cold) and forget about your troubles.

190

We’re all in this journey together and it’s amazing how our paths cross for a reason and how we are here to learn from each other and grow.

I think the biggest obstacle I tend to have is fear.  Fear of pretty much everything.. parenthood, relationships and the list goes on and on.  So, what helps me is to work through those feelings by practicing yoga, writing, talking to those I trust and just doing my best to let go.   Letting go of fear involves courage and choosing to take the leap when my intuition tells me it’s time.  That, and slowly getting rid of every toxic relationship and being extremely selective about who I let into my life.  Positivity is so very contagious; it’s a beautiful thing.

One of my favorite motivational authors, Dr. Wayne Dyer, quoted “Most stress in our lives results from hanging on to beliefs that keep us striving for more, because ego stubbornly believes we need it.”  This is so true, I find myself wanting to accomplish more, earn more money, be in better shape, etc.  I don’t need any of these things and you don’t either.  There’s nothing wrong with wanting to be successful or look great but these things shouldn’t be ego-driven.  This is definitely the case in my situation – my ego gets in the way because of fear/insecurity and the inability to let go at times.  I think we’ve all been there; it’s human nature to be ego-driven sometimes.  Striving to detach from ego is a work in progress, for sure.

One of my favorite books on this topic is the classic “Feel the Fear and Do it Anyway.”  I have this book and pull it out from time to time to remind myself that I can handle whatever comes my way, just like author Susan Jeffers preaches.

In the end though, we need people to help us push through our struggles.  And, they are there for us when we need them as long we our hearts are open 🙂

Be Well,

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

